Reworking/Rethinking the University

Two Conferences at the University of Minnesota, April 11-13th, 2008; April 24-26, 2009

Reworkingtheu.org

We made a new website for the upcoming conference, Reworking the University: Visions, Strategies, and Demands, to be held at the University of Minnesota – in Minneapolis, April 24-26th, 2009.  It is a free conference and open to the public, so please feel free to attend if you are interested (see the program of presentations and events here – and logistics here).  For more info, contact comradmn [at] gmail.com (and if you would like to be on the listserv for the conference, email rethinku-subscribe [at] lists.riseup.net).  Please feel free to comment here with your thoughts, suggestions, critiques, etc. about the conference.

April 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I really wish I could attend and participate. I enjoyed last year’s meeting, and learned a lot. It continues to influence my teaching, and more importantly, how I think about and enact my role in union leadership at my university as we respond to the financial crisis in our state.

    In fact, that’s what I wanted to offer a presentation/participate in discussions about: faculty and staff responses to administrative panic about budget cuts. We’re facing somewhere between 15% and 22% cuts, once the state leg finishes the budget, and we’re in a tailspin with little decision making or real leadership.

    Out-of-state travel has been severely curtailed at my uni, and I’ve had some health issues that make spring travel personally difficult for me, so I won’t be joining you in Minneapolis, but I’ll be eagerly watching my email and the conference websites to see what you all do this year.

    Comment by Elizabeth Kissling | April 5, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

